May 28, 2013; Detroit, MI, USA; American flag at Comerica Park. Mandatory Credit: Rick Osentoski-USA TODAY Sports

Morning Chop: Atlanta Braves News 9/11

Fox Sports

Teheran leads Braves past Marlins


Sep 10, 2013; Miami, FL, USA; Atlanta Braves starting pitcher Julio Teheran (49) delivers a pitch during the first inning against the Miami Marlins at Marlins Park. Mandatory Credit: Steve Mitchell-USA TODAY Sports

Julio Teheran said his 10-day layoff seemed more like a month, and the first inning upon his return lasted a long time, too.

The rookie right-hander struggled at the outset but settled down to pitch 6 2-3 innings and help theAtlanta Braves beat theMiami Marlins 4-3 on Tuesday night.

Teheran (12-7) gave up three runs in the first inning, then none after that.

“The first inning I was feeling a little bit weird after the long rest,” he said. “But my arm was feeling good. I was feeling good after that inning.”

Mindful of October games to come for the NL East leaders, Braves manager Fredi Gonzalez decided to have Teheran skip a turn in the rotation.

“Anytime you give those guys a breather, maybe you don’t see it the first start back, but I think you’ll see it the next couple of starts and beyond,” Gonzalez said. “That’s what we want to do — we want to pitch these guys beyond the next couple of starts.”


Yahoo Sports

Atlanta Braves: Could Craig Kimbrel Be the National League Cy Young and MVP?

Atlanta Braves closer Craig Kimbrel is on pace for a record-setting season in 2013. With a league-leading 45 saves already under his belt, should his dominance late in games allow him to be given worthy consideration for the National League Cy Young and MVP trophies?

 While it may seem like the MVP Award is strictly for position players, pitchers used to routinely win this award. There have been 24 total hurlers who have raised the Most Valuable Player Award at the end of the year — the most recent of which happened in 2011 when Detroit Tigers ace Justin Verlander took home the honor in the American League. But relievers rarely feel the same love come award season.

 Since 1911, only four relievers have ever won the MVP Award. It has not happened in the National League since Jim Konstanty did so after saving 22 games for the Philadelphia Phillies during the 1950 season. In 1992, Dennis Eckersley won MVP honors after saving 51 games for the Oakland Athletics — no reliever has won the award since.

But Kimbrel is starting to redefine what it means to be unhittable, and, in a year in which no position player is the clear MVP choice, the Baseball Writers of America may need to stop and take notice at what Atlanta’s late-game savior as been doing.



Some tweets you may have missed….and we had a brief spotting of our own Chipper Jones

JordanSchafer's avatar
Jordan Schafer @JordanSchafer

Win win win

JoeTerdoslavich's avatar
Joseph Terdoslavich @JoeTerdoslavich

Another W #magicnumber7

ChristianBeth27's avatar
ChristianBethancourt @ChristianBeth27

It’s a dream come true !! Thanks everyone for the good wishes!!

MikeMinor36's avatar
Mike Minor @MikeMinor36

Big win for the Bravos tonight! Kris with a K did his thang!

RealCJ10's avatar
Chipper Jones @RealCJ10

MLB boys in Alberta! Jeff Danker with his 165.

Media preview





Tags: Atlanta Braves FanSided

comments powered by Disqus